New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: This forum is accepting new registrations by emailing newmarsmember * gmail.com become a registered member. Read the Recruiting expertise for NewMars Forum topic in Meta New Mars for other information for this process.

#1 2005-02-10 15:45:21

Manchu4
Banned

Re: Robotic vs Manned exploration - Which is better and why

I would like to introduce myself to the forum members.  I am not a space scientist but have a science background(Geology)I was born in 1957 and have followed the US and USSR ventures into space.  I am an avid reader of science fiction, (Asimov, Clarke, the list goes on) but read anything fact based on the space program as well.  My basic question, that I would like to  explore :  Should we spend the resources that we have in developing robotic exploration vehicles or should we spend our resources on manned exploration of the solar system? Personally, I lean toward putting on money on robotic systems.  However, I am sure there are members here who could enlighten me on the counter-argument.  Thanks for your consideration

Anything worth doing, is worth doing well!!

#2 2005-02-10 17:47:16

Grypd

In my opinion it is a blend of both that would prove the best way forward. Robotics will help build and explore and find the things that we need doing. But it will only be so that we can send people with the mk 1 eyeball to do the thorough job but still with robots in the background in a support role. And another technology in telerobotics will mean that we can have robots there with Human intelligence there with them.

Oh ps welcome to new Mars

Chan eil mi aig a bheil ùidh ann an gleidheadh an status quo; Tha mi airson cur às e.

#3 2005-02-10 17:49:59

Dook
Banned

Welcome to the forum!