New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#26 2021-04-16 18:10:38

tahanson43206
Moderator
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 6,070

Re: TheSpaceShow

This post is about the North Houston Chapter of the National Space Society.

The next meeting (online) is scheduled May 1st.

The message includes an invitation to make a presentation about the NewMars forum.

***

This invitation came in from the North Houston Chapter of the National Space Society.

FYI,

Any chance if we are short a speaker for a future meeting you'd be willing to give a 30-45 minute presentation on the New Mars forum?  Maybe a bullet point for each of the top ten active threads, highlight some interesting members, and share how to join the conversation?  We are booked up for now but might need you in the future.


----- Forwarded Message -----
From: NSS North Houston Space Society <info@meetup.com>
Sent: Friday, April 16, 2021, 11:35:51 AM CDT
Subject: ? Just scheduled: Monthly North Houston Space Society Chapter Meeting

Meetup

Nathan Price scheduled a new event in NSS North Houston Space Society Just now
Monthly North Houston Space Society Chapter Meeting

NSS North Houston Space Society
   

Saturday, May 1, 2021

2:00 PM to 4:00 PM CT
   

Online event

Link visible for attendees
Reserve your spot

Details

Join us for our Monthly NSS North Houston Space Society (http://NorthHoustonSpace.org) meeting. Connect with others who are excited about exploring the cosmos, learning how to use the resources of space to improve human life, and who want to go and s...

Learn more

Hosted by

Nathan Price

Longtime space enthusiast. I stay up for SpaceX launches and Elon speeches. I work as a consultant for Anaplan but am looking for ways to get more involved in the exciting activities happening in Space Exploration.
5 going
   
See all

Victoria K.

Nathan Price

Blanca Bejar

Greg Stanley

C Stuart Hardwick

(th)

Offline

#27 2021-04-16 19:28:00

SpaceNut
Administrator
From: New Hampshire
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 22,148

Re: TheSpaceShow

That does not sound all that difficult since we have post counts for topics, we have the recent topics, we have the user by joining or by post count...Talking about how its evolved over time from a personal blog to being one for the mars society....
definitely the solar nuclear is in the top posted about issues...
insitu versus sending everything
going with a clean versus Frankenstein build using what we have
Starship versus the nasa gateway with SLS...
scaled Crew size versus hundreds all at one time

just a few thoughts

short bio like of members with special talents that make it possible to open discuss all aspects of a mars journey

Offline

#28 2021-04-16 20:10:41

tahanson43206
Moderator
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 6,070

Re: TheSpaceShow

For SpaceNut re #27

Thanks for taking up this invitation for consideration.

I am surprised to find I posted the announcement in the Space Show topic.

It was supposed to have gone into the NSS topic.

However, no real harm done.

It is a opportunity for someone to tell others about NewMars.

Years ago I was able to create presentations that lasted for extended periods, but I am long out of practice.

(th)

Offline

#29 2021-05-18 13:23:45

tahanson43206
Moderator
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 6,070

Re: TheSpaceShow

2: 7 PM PST (9 PM CST; 10 PM EST): We welcome back CHRIS CARBERRY of Explore Mars, Inc. for news and updates plus information on their current Mars programming and events.

The live program will broadcast today (Tuesday 2021/05/18)

(th)

Offline

#30 2021-05-31 11:58:36

tahanson43206
Moderator
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 6,070

Re: TheSpaceShow

From Email 2021/05/31 ...



June
01
Tuesday
   
1. 7 PM PST (9 PM CST; 10 PM EST): We welcome back DR. MARTIN ELVIS to discuss his new book, "Asteroids: How Love, Fear, and Greed will determine our Future in Space."


June
04
Friday
   
3. 9:30-11 AM PST; 11:30 AM- 1 PM CST; 12:30-2 PM EST: We welcome TEMIDAYO ONIOSUN to discuss the African space program and the space industry in the region.

June
06
Sunday
   
4. 12-1:30 PM PST, (3-4:30 PM EST, 2-3:30 PM CST): We welcome back noted space attorney Wayne White to discuss the new Space Pioneer Act.

drspace@thespaceshow.com

(th)

Offline

#31 2021-06-08 12:47:40

tahanson43206
Moderator
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 6,070

Re: TheSpaceShow

Space Shows Schedule:

June
08
Tuesday
   
1. 7 PM PST (9 PM CST; 10 PM EST): We welcome DR. MARTIN ROSS from The Aerospace Corporation regarding rocket emissions, climate change and more.


June
11
Friday
   
3. 9:30-11 AM PST; 11:30 AM- 1 PM CST; 12:30-2 PM EST: We welcome economist DR. AKHIL RAO regarding LEO debris issues and the value of orbital use fees.

June
13
Sunday
   
4. 12-1:30 PM PST, (3-4:30 PM EST, 2-3:30 PM CST): Welcome back to OPEN LINES. All calls welcome, space, science STEM and STEAM topics. New callers welcome. Tell us what is on your mind. Call at 1-866-687-7223

(th)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB