New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2021-03-02 16:25:56

Quaoar

Can we build an interstellar starship with current technology?

As an hard SF writer, I was looking for a realistic starship for my next novel which will be set between the local stars. The ship should be about 600 ton of mass and she should be able to reach Proxima in about 16-17 years, traveling at 0.25 C.

Can we build such a ship with slightly ameliorated current technologies?

After making some rough math, I found the answer and I was quite shocked: yes we can build it using a laser sail like the mini probe of Yuri Milner, but bigger.

A 600 ton starship needs almost 880 TW of optical laser power to accelerate at 1 g.

We can image a one-micron-thick carbon-carbon sail, coated with 10 nm of molibdenum on the aft side: such a sail would weight 0.0018 kg/m2 and would have a power load of 100 MW/m2 at 2000 K. So the total sail area would be 8814000 m2, the diameter 3350 m (or a square of 2970 m of side) and the mass 15.9 ton.  The sail would be furled like the sail of JAXA's IKAROS: stowed on a rolling drum like an origami, then extended and kept in shape by centrifugal force. We can image carbon nanotubes artificial muscles, embedded in the sail as stiffening ribs, that fold it again during the coasting phase of the trip.