New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2005-11-21 16:50:17

flashgordon

Re: SpaceDev analyses for a 10 Billions dollar moon colonization

http://www.space.com/news/051121_spacedev.html

I'd like to personaly say first of all, I'm a Poway Titan graduate; i knew I should of trained hard to break the school mile record - oh well!; still, how many thirty year olds can say they can run as fast as I can now?(clue, I'm fast!)  I'll be alright though i'm sure in the rest of my life even though it still seems to be on the backburner.

Anyways, the article doesn't exactly specify what their plan is, but it will be highly interesting to see the effect of this study on the current world space race(yes, It has indeed turned into a spacerace).

#2 2005-11-21 22:00:05

flashgordon

before anyone risks their reputations, i thought I'd go ahead and share a few thoughts that came to me while rereading it.

Seems SpaceDev has proposed generalizing the spacestation idea all the way to the lunar surface.  The spacestation idea was originaly to save money by leaving heavy equipment up in orbit(today's space stations are significantly reduced to the point of being worlh less); SpaceDev is leaving spacestations at various orbital points all the way to the moon and even habitats on the moon!

#3 2005-11-21 22:01:14

flashgordon