New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2003-10-04 08:26:13

Bill White

Re: A dumb question. . . - from a liberal arts major :-)

Organic chemistry is primarily based on 4 elements, right?

Carbon, hydrogen, oxygen and nitrogen. Other elements are essential but in much lesser quantities than these four. I am not a scientist so correct me if I am wrong here.

Water makes H and O available and carbon dioxide makes C and O available but does Mars have any nitrogen? My anecdotal reading suggests Mars is extremely nitrogen poor. Is this true? Does Mars have sufficient nitrogen to support a biosphere, even if only bacteria?

Without elemental nitrogen how can there be life on Mars? Without abundant nitrogen how could a biosphere wide nitrogen cycle ever develop? Am I missing something obvious or would a lack of nitrogen make life on Mars very, very unlikely?

#2 2003-10-04 09:03:20

Byron

Organic chemistry is primarily based on 4 elements, right?

Carbon, hydrogen, oxygen and nitrogen. Other elements are essential but in much lesser quantities than these four. I am not a scientist so correct me if I am wrong here.

Water makes H and O available and carbon dioxide makes C and O available but does Mars have any nitrogen? My anecdotal reading suggests Mars is extremely nitrogen poor. Is this true? Does Mars have sufficient nitrogen to support a biosphere, even if only bacteria?