New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: We've recently made changes to our user database and have removed inactive and spam users. If you can not login, please re-register.

#1 2020-01-13 10:57:57

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

TheSpaceShow

The interview on the Space Show coming up on Tuesday is about Titan:

2. SPECIAL TIME: Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2020: 6 PM PST (8 pm CST; 9 PM EST): We welcome JANELLE WELLONS of JPL to discuss future Titan settlement prosects and space mission instrument and related engineering topics.

Janelle Wellons graduated from the Massachusetts Institute Technology (MIT) with a B.S. in Aerospace Engineering in 2016 and now works at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, CA. At JPL, Janelle works as an instrument operations engineer on the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter, the earth-observing Multi-Angle Imager for Aerosols (MAIA), and previously on the Saturnian Cassini mission. Her job consists of creating the commands for and monitoring the health and safety of a variety of instruments. She also works in development, specifically for the ground data system and instrument operations concepts for the MAIA mission. Additionally, Janelle serves on an advisory board for Magnitude.io, a company that creates project-based learning experiences designed for STEM education.  She is also a on the board for the Pasadena YWCA, heading the programs committee and developing STEAM activities for middle school aged girls. When she isn’t working you can find her scuba diving, playing video games, reading, enjoying the outdoors, and doing outreach work.

What caught my eye (for NewMars forum readers) is that (apparently) the interview will include consideration of creating a habitat of some kind for humans visiting Titan.  The problems to be solved seem (to me at least) reasonably close to those confronting Mars settlers.

For SpaceNut ... the speaker may be in a position to help to recruit participants in the Virtual Expedition topic.

(th)

Offline

#2 2020-01-13 18:18:08

SpaceNut
Administrator
From: New Hampshire
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 19,657

Re: TheSpaceShow

It may be possible to do much of this in a game mode or SIM game that allows for the choices to be made that effects out come.
As for new recruits that would be great to see other educated individuals that want to be arm chair scientists or engineers.

Offline

#3 2020-02-10 08:37:31

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

Dr. Zubrin will return to The Space Show this week:

The Space Show Webinars Can Be Seen At http://vimeo.com//channels/thespaceshow
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1 Monday, Feb. 10 , 2020; 7 PM PST (9 PM CST; 10 PM EST) No special programming today.

2. Tuesday, Feb. 11, 7-8:30 PM PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT; 10-11:30 PM EDT): DR. ROBERT ZUBRIN returns regarding his recent Mars articles and news.

3. Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2020, Pre-recorded Hotel Mars Program with John Batchelor. See Upcoming Show on The Space Show website for details.

The show may be heard live over the Internet, or later from the mp3 library.

(th)

Last edited by tahanson43206 (2020-08-30 20:29:11)

Offline

#4 2020-02-10 19:14:24

SpaceNut
Administrator
From: New Hampshire
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 19,657

Re: TheSpaceShow

Hopefully I can let it play in the background as I work...other wise its waiting until the mp3 is ready.
Hoping for the lunar build mission using Falcon heavy rather than waiting...

Offline

#5 2020-02-11 22:45:31

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

The Space Show featuring Dr. Zubrin just concluded.  Dr. Zubrin was in great form.  The program included several calls from regular Space Show participants.  At the conclusion, Dr. Zubrin announced a 1 million person Mars Colony design competition.  The book which came out of last year's 1000 person competition is now available in paperback or eBook.

For those NewMars forum readers who were unable to tune into the live broadcast, the mp3 file will be available in a few hours.

Edit#1: By a nice coincidence, the NewMars forum recently set up a topic for planning a Virtual Expedition to accompany the Mars 2020 lander on its planned journey to Mars in July of 2020.  The target population was 1,000,000 people, who would be organized in 10,000 virtual "ships" of 100 members, under the leadership of qualified individuals able to provide an interesting and educational experience for two years of the simulated flight.

There is plenty of time to arrange for at least ONE of these virtual "ships" to come into being by July of 2020.

(th)

Last edited by tahanson43206 (2020-02-12 10:30:12)

Offline

#6 2020-02-12 13:25:15

SpaceNut
Administrator
From: New Hampshire
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 19,657

Re: TheSpaceShow

The rescue or safe haven is also part of that virtual planning of real hardware conditions that we might need back up for. Its that backup which puts mission and the limits beyond what we have and how we plan for long term goals. That is why we try to preload a site with unmanned cargo and equipment in preperation for manned missions. It lessons the need to send that equipment with men which brings the payloads back toward being something that we can do. So the more you can preload for future the better for mans mission success when they are started.

Did not see any links for the show on the page so did a search on Zubrin and got back https://vimeo.com/search?q=zubrin

Offline

#7 2020-02-12 18:32:29

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

For SpaceNut re #6

The show may not have been posted when you looked.

I have verified it is present and that it plays as an mp3.

The web site is fairly simple, considering all the services built into it.

Just scroll down from the top until you find the list of shows.

To play a show, select it and then active "play" (right arrow) in the audio playback display.

(th)

Offline

#8 2020-02-12 21:04:17

SpaceNut
Administrator
From: New Hampshire
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 19,657

Re: TheSpaceShow

The other website above is much older...

Found it here https://www.thespaceshow.com/

Offline

#9 2020-03-04 20:45:34

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

A recent Space Show included discussion of asteroid mining.

Since there is an active topic on asteroid mining, there may be forum readers who would be interested in this Internet radio program.

https://www.thespaceshow.com/show/28-fe … david-rich

The program is saved as an mp3 file.

(th)

Offline

#10 2020-05-04 09:02:29

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

An upcoming Space Show may be of interest to one or two NewMars members.

5. Friday, May 8, 2020; 9:30-11 AM PDT; 11:30 AM-1 PM CDT; 12:30-2 PM EDT. We welcome back DR. DR. GEORGE SOWERS of the Colorado School of Mines Space Resoruce Dept. to discuss his latest work, space resource utilization and more.

(th)

Offline

#11 2020-06-22 11:47:42

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

An upcoming Space Show may be of interest to one or two NewMars members:

Visit www.thespaceshow.com for additional detail
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1
2. Tuesday, June 23, 16, 2020, 7 PM PDT (9 PM CDT; 10 PM EDT) We welcome back DR. JIM LOGAN to discuss .the 'successful spreading out of humanity into space - PERMANENTLY,' NOT "Exploration" per se - and the most feasible way(s) to establish the first viable toeholds in this "New World" given what we've learned (i.e. 'evidence-based' not fantasy-based) in almost 60 years of human spaceflight.
3.

(th)

Offline

#12 2020-08-18 10:35:18

tahanson43206
Member
Registered: 2018-04-27
Posts: 3,456

Re: TheSpaceShow

An interview with Dr. Louis Friedman may be of interest to NewMars members:

From TheSpaceShow newsletter:

5. Friday, August 23 , 2020; 9:30-11 AM PDT; 11:30 AM-1 PM CDT; 12:30-2 PM EDT. .We welcome back Dr. LOU FRIEDMAN on his new book, "Planetary Adventures: From Moscow to Mars." Lou is the former head of The Planetary Society, now retired.

6. Sunday, August 23 2020 12-1:30 PM PDT, (3-4:30 PM EDT, 2-3:30 PM CDT): We welcome back DR. JASON REIMULLER to discuss EVA space suit testing, gravity offset, PMC-Turbo, STEM outreach competitions, chasing NLCs with the Canadian Air Force, plus more..

(th)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB