New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2020-07-25 17:30:04

Void

Multi-Core Planetary System Formation. Just speculations, not fact.

I am going to argue for the notion that when planetary subsystems form, they may form multiple small proto planets, and then their would be an argument about who is going to be a planet and who was going to be a moon.  Possibly with some merging.

This makes sense to me at least for Jupiter.

I am not a professional of any kind, and am in fact retired, so I have no career to damage.  And I have time to spare before my next event tonight.

I will start with the usual suspects, interplanetary gasses and dust.  I will speculate to add the possibility of pre-existing solid fragments, that would have come from objects ejected from other stars, and "aerobraked" into a solar disk.  This will add random factors, and can help to explain in part why most solar systems do not resemble ours per sizes and locations of planets per size.

I will dwell on the solar disk for a bit, and ask, if it had a gravitational field, magnetic field, electric properties, and perhaps a tenuous atmosphere.

I will say yes it would have had a collective gravity field, that might have helped to defend a tenuous atmosphere from the fierce solar wind from the sun.  I presume it would have had a magnetic field(s), but don't know the implications of that.  I definitely don't know how electrical effects would have behaved, but I expect that there would have been such.