New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2007-06-29 09:33:46

ven_aura
Banned

Re: An Educational Video Game

Hello all, new here.  I'd almost given up that I'd get membership!

Anyway, I'm an intern at a company that develops "serious games" (we all hate the term) and the project I've been given the research for is a space game.

Considering the awesome opportunities for education and outreach in a Mars setting, that was our chosen focus (for this phase). While a finished product is going to take YEARS and probably a lot of headaches, the current research and module and some graphics phase we're in is pretty fun.

I've already done a fair bit of research already, and we've figured out the basics of the layout of the base, but there are a few things I'd like to bounce off you all.

I'm currently trying to develop a few problem scenarios within some educational standards. One idea we came up with involved mining (not strip mining, though, don't want to mess up the planet right away) and another involved the maintenance and placement of remote science stations.

The last one I'm trying to explore, though, is giving me a little trouble. And it involves life support and growing food. I've got the basics of the biology down (had to take a refresher, last time I had biology was junior high, thank goodness I have friends that major in it) but how it all works together has made me hit a bit of a wall.