New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2007-04-25 03:19:13

mjp
Banned

Re: Delta V for a low thrust trajectory to Mars

Hi,

I'm an aerospace student at Southampton University and am currently writing my dissertation on:
'Electric propulsion for a manned mission to Mars'

I'm trying to find any information on Delta V's for low thrust Mars trajectories. I know they vary depending on the type of thruster any most projects use computer programs to calculate low thrust trajectories.

But i could really do with values for the Delta V and corresponding specific impulse and thrust of the thruster.

Thanks very much

#2 2007-04-25 05:42:51

cIclops

Hi,

I'm an aerospace student at Southampton University and am currently writing my dissertation on:
'Electric propulsion for a manned mission to Mars'

I'm trying to find any information on Delta V's for low thrust Mars trajectories. I know they vary depending on the type of thruster any most projects use computer programs to calculate low thrust trajectories.

But i could really do with values for the Delta V and corresponding specific impulse and thrust of the thruster.

Thanks very much

Hi mjp!

One of the main problems with human missions to Mars is exposure to radiation, using a low thrust trajectory would worsen this problem.

Approximate values:

delta-v
LEO to Mars surface: 4.8 km/sec
LEO to Phobos:     5.6 kms/sec

Ion thruster: Isp ~ 3000 secs, Thrust ~ 0.1 N