New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2004-04-13 20:28:54

PLIND
Banned

Re: Explosive acceleration from laser energy - Powering a craft with laser energy?

:hm:  I'm very new to the Mars Society but I'd like to find out the fate of a propulsion technology that involved a material that explosively reacted to laser energy. It showed a lot of promise although I have never heard anything of it in a long time. A cylinder was coated with a very special (very expensive) material. The cylinder was rapidly rotated and a laser fired at the cylinder. An explosive reaction accelerated the cylinder. The beauty of this method was that it did not require fuel. Energy could be obtained via solar panels and then used to fire the lasers that would accelerate the craft. True, you would need conventional rockets to get to orbit but the trip to Mars would not require it.
As I said, I'm very new here but I would like to know if anything became of that technology. A craft powered in this manner could be, and would be, much lighter then one requiring fuel?

#2 2004-04-13 20:34:15

GCNRevenger

Re: Explosive acceleration from laser energy - Powering a craft with laser energy?