New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2002-11-13 07:33:03

TJohn
Banned

Re: Nuclear Propulsion - The best way for space travel

I don't know if I've posted this to the right topic or not.
I've found two very good websites on nuclear propulsion:
http://www.newworlds.com/nucpro.html
http://www.nuclearspace.com/

I'm not an expert on anything dealing with this topic, but from what I've read, to me, nuclear propulsion is the best way to go as far as propulsion.  It's been tested in the past and found to work.  It has Isp(s) hundreds of times higher than chemical propulsion.  We have the material available from nuclear missiles that are being dismantled.  I don't want to turn this into a political debate but, with a majority Republican party in Congress and the White House, now would be the best time to try and get research and development started again.  I know that the environmentalists are going to complain about a rocket blowing up in the atmosphere, but in the above listed websites, even if a reactor was in an explosion of a Challenger size it would not have received any damage or leaks.  I would like to hear comments and/or complaints.  Thanks.

One day...we will get to Mars and the rest of the galaxy!!  Hopefully it will be by Nuclear power!!!

#2 2002-11-13 09:04:38

Mark S
Banned

You'll get no disagreements from me, TJohn!