New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2002-07-15 20:28:28

IceCrystal23
Banned

Re: Reasons to send humans to Mars - help me

I found an article on BBC News about how Russia plans to send six men to Mars in 2015 here's the article
Well, I am a high school student taking a night English class in order to graduate early, and next week we have an arguement essay due.  This article inspired me to write about either why we should send people to Mars, or something like "Why the Public Should Want Men on Mars."
All of the arguements I've read here are very helpful, but I need a some credible sources as well (such as papers by Dr. Zubrin and such).  I was wondering if anyone here would be willing to send me some links or something to find such sources.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. in case you didn't catch this yet I am fully in support of a manned Mars mission, and enjoy reading the debates at this site

#2 2002-07-15 20:39:11

Shaun Barrett

Welcome aboard IceCrystal23 !
   We need all the humans-to-Mars enthusiasts we can get!
   I'm not sure how deep into this you may already be, but if you want to get a feel for Dr. Zubrin's point of view, try flicking through his book, "The Case For Mars". It's required reading for Mars advocates in my opinion!
   Hope this is helpful, and good luck with the essay!
                                          smile