New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2003-09-24 11:21:09

Ian
Banned

Re: Fission Or Fusion Powered Spacecraft - Fission Or Fusion Powered Spacecraft

Would a spacecraft that explodes small nuclear bombs inside a material that would withstand a nuclear explosion and release energy that would come out of the back of the spacecraft through some sort of hole actually work?

#2 2003-09-25 07:11:25

TJohn
Banned

I'm not a rocket scientist (haven't we all said that before) but I don't see why it wouldn't work.  Propellant goes out of the nozzles, ship goes in opposite direction.  Very fast if it was fission or fusion powered.  What material could withstand nuclear blast for a small period of time?  Carbon nanotubes formed into a container?  Quartz?  Here's a good link for starters:  http://www.islandone.org/APC/Nuclear/index.html

One day...we will get to Mars and the rest of the galaxy!!  Hopefully it will be by Nuclear power!!!

#3 2003-09-28 09:00:29

dicktice

Controlled fusion doesn't even exist, outside of anyone's imagination. If you want to propose fusion as a means of propulsion, describe the fusion process you mean. I wish it weren't a pipe-dream, but that's all it is unfortunately.

#4 2003-09-28 13:02:26

Ian
Banned

"Controlled fusion doesn't even exist, outside of anyone's imagination. If you want to propose fusion as a means of propulsion, describe the fusion process you mean. I wish it weren't a pipe-dream, but that's all it is unfortunately."