New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2004-05-08 12:26:55

Palomar

Re: U.S. Culture - ...where's it going?

Agreed Cindy, and I'll go you one further: When I was in high school (I graduated in 1980) we brought guns to school all the time, typically hunting rifles or shotguns, and guys often wore knives on their belts. Many people would go hunting after school, and during hunting season -- much of which is in fall and winter -- they would be in a hurry to get in the field before sunset. (This was in South Texas.)

I remember once watching a fistfight between two guys, and the loser, mad as hell, got in his truck and slammed the door, and burned rubber out of the parking lot. In his back windshield was a 12 gauge shotgun.

The thing about it is that at the time, nobody thought anything of it. To use a weapon -- even a knife -- in a fistfight was an act considered so cowardly that it was literally *unthinkable*. It simply didn't occur to anyone.