New Mars Forums

Official discussion forum of The Mars Society and MarsNews.com

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Announcement: As a reader of NewMars forum, we have opportunities for you to assist with technical discussions in several initiatives underway. NewMars needs volunteers with appropriate education, skills, talent, motivation and generosity of spirit as a highly valued member. Write to newmarsmember * gmail.com to tell us about your ability's to help contribute to NewMars and become a registered member.

#1 2022-01-30 14:36:07

Quaoar

A question about orbit-to-orbit spaceship

As a SF writer, I often try to figure a future where interplanetary travels are routine: many scientific station orbit around Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, the main belt asteroids and the jovian satellites, connected by big orbit-to-orbit spaceship, like GW Johnson's modular space-train

https://exrocketman.blogspot.com/2013/1 … -2013.html

This kind of spaceships are not supposed to perform atmospheric entry and landing, but only to travel from the low orbit of the planet to the low orbit on another, doing all maneuvers propulsively and being refurbished in orbit by shuttle-tankers. 

For a Earth-Mars or Mars-Earth transfer it's perfect, but what happens when this kind of spaceship returns from Venus, using a Hohmann orbit?

As far as I can understand, she is forced to insert herself in a retrograde orbit around Earth, where it's very difficult to be refurbished (a retrograde LEO mission has almost 10.2 km/s of deltaV vs. 9.2 km/s of a classic prograde orbit insertion) and there is also a high risk of satellite debris impact.

So, how to solve this problem, without consuming tons of propellant to invert the orbit?